VirtualMIDISynth Error (With Reaper, latest version)

It seems you're using an AdBlocker or JavaScript is disabled!

This sites offers only FREE software and it's supported by a few advertisement boxes (no intrusive popups).

This 10 seconds wait is to let you update your AdBlocker whitelist...

Got it, show me the content...
Please enable JavaScript!
Posts: 3
Joined: March 16, 2017 - 08:47
VirtualMIDISynth Error (With Reaper, latest version)

Each and every time I attempt to open the Reaper "Preferences Menu", Reaper Crashes completely.  Using the event viewer, it specifies VMS as the "faulty module"   Any IDeas?  

Log Name:      Application
Source:        Application Error
Date:          3/16/2017 4:51:51 AM
Event ID:      1000
Task Category: (100)
Level:         Error
Keywords:      Classic
User:          N/A
Computer:      DESKTOP-CQFC1NE
Description:
Faulting application name: reaper.exe, version: 5.3.5.0, time stamp: 0x58b590a6
Faulting module name: VirtualMIDISynth.dll, version: 1.999.999.202, time stamp: 0x57f562bc
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000000000002a2c1
Faulting process id: 0xa74
Faulting application start time: 0x01d29e32586b307f
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\reaper.exe
Faulting module path: C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VirtualMIDISynth.dll
Report Id: 31926ac9-20b3-4461-9c28-d1dfaff38a19
Faulting package full name: 
Faulting package-relative application ID: 
Event Xml:
">http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
 
   
    1000
    2
    100
    0x80000000000000
   
    32919
    Application
    DESKTOP-CQFC1NE
   
 

 
    reaper.exe
    5.3.5.0
    58b590a6
    VirtualMIDISynth.dll
    1.999.999.202
    57f562bc
    c0000005
    000000000002a2c1
    a74
    01d29e32586b307f
    C:\Program Files\REAPER (x64)\reaper.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VirtualMIDISynth.dll
    31926ac9-20b3-4461-9c28-d1dfaff38a19
   
   

   
   

 

Bitchin' Camaro

Posts: 1536
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: VirtualMIDISynth Error (With Reaper, latest version)

Need further info:

  • Reaper version (I suppose 5.3.5 from the error log)
  • Windows version + SP level
  • Other info like Antivirus, uncommon audio or /hardware devices, ...

Again, is there a trial version of Reaper available? And, if yes, does it have the same issue?

Posts: 37
Joined: November 6, 2015 - 12:32
Re: VirtualMIDISynth Error (With Reaper, latest version)

Hi,
I have never used Reaper but I have heard about it.
There is a free version and it is identical to the commercial version. They have exactly the same features. Only that you need to purchase a license after two months if you want to continue using it. So I guess that yes, the free version will have the same problem. Last version is 5.35.
You can download it here: http://www.reaper.fm/download.php

Posts: 3
Joined: March 16, 2017 - 08:47
Re: VirtualMIDISynth Error (With Reaper, latest version)

SysInfo attached! thank you for your response.

No AV, havent used one in decades.

Attachments (Only registered users)
Sys INfo.txt

Bitchin' Camaro

Posts: 3
Joined: March 16, 2017 - 08:47
Re: VirtualMIDISynth Error (With Reaper, latest version)

the trial is the same as the full release(Reaper). it is an "honor system" payment method. after 2 months you get a nag screen, but no functionality is lost

Bitchin' Camaro

Posts: 1536
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: VirtualMIDISynth Error (With Reaper, latest version)

Can't reproduce on my side :(
I've tried both your Reaper version (5.35) ant the latest available (5.40).

  • Windows 10 x64
  • Reaper 5.35 / 5.40 x64

Then, after a deep look at your report, I've seen you're running RC2 version of VMS2 (VirtualMIDISynth.dll version 1.999.999.202) and not the latest one.
If you're supposed to run the final VMS 2.0 version, then maybe something went wrong during its installation.

Now:

  • uninstall VMS
  • please check if C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VirtualMIDISynth.dll was successfully deleted
  • reinstall VMS 2.0 final
  • check version of file C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\VirtualMIDISynth.dll (right click on it then Properties | Details)
  • if it still doesn't work, open VMS configurator, Aboud tab then generate the debug report and attach it here
Attachments (Only registered users)
reaper_5.35.png
reaper_5.40.png