Windows 10...Won't let me set VMS as my default player

Please let our ADS show!

This sites offers only FREE software and it's supported by a few advertisement boxes (no intrusive popups).
Please:

  • disable your AdBlocker by adding CoolSoft website to whitelist
  • give the proper cookie consent
  • enable JavaScript for this website

This seconds wait is to let you update your browser configuration...

Ok, I've done the required changes... now show me your content!
!!! Please enable JavaScript !!!
Posts: 3
Joined: April 24, 2015 - 21:24
Windows 10...Won't let me set VMS as my default player

Hi there. Anyone else having problems with Windows 10 and VMS?

I'm probably blind as well as stupid, but I can't see any updates to make it work.

I have been using it, very successfully, with my Mozart music software.

Help me somebody...:-)

 

thedadda48

 

Posts: 102
Joined: March 8, 2014 - 22:29
Re: Windows 10...Won't let me set VMS as my default player

If you're talking about making VMS the default MIDI device on Windows, well, nope.

Windows 10 misses the MIDI-Mapper, like Windows 8 and Windows 8.1.

Posts: 3
Joined: April 24, 2015 - 21:24
Re: Windows 10...Won't let me set VMS as my default player

Thank you, KaleidonKep99, for your input. Much appreciated.

Don't suppose you can suggest an alternative/fix for this please?

 

thedadda48

 

Posts: 1718
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: Windows 10...Won't let me set VMS as my default player

Sadly there's no fix possible for this, AFAIK.
You need to update/change your MIDI software (I don't know Mozart) to a version/one that lets you choose the output device (like VanBasco).
Take a look here: http://coolsoft.altervista.org/en/blog/2013/03/what-happened-midi-mapper...

Posts: 10
Joined: February 12, 2015 - 13:18
Re: Windows 10...Won't let me set VMS as my default player

What about this registry key? It works!

Posts: 1718
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: Windows 10...Won't let me set VMS as my default player
VGA wrote:

What about this registry key? It works!

Which one? Can't see it...

Posts: 10
Joined: February 12, 2015 - 13:18
Re: Windows 10...Won't let me set VMS as my default player

Heh, forgot to post the link :-D

http://pcaudiohelp.com/how-to-change-the-default-midi-device-in-vista-an...

Posts: 1718
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: Windows 10...Won't let me set VMS as my default player

That key works in Vista/7, where the MIDI Mapper is still present but hidden (no GUI to configure it).

Starting from Windows 8 the MIDI Mapper has been removed, so that key doesn't work anymore (except for Windows Media Player).