VirtualMIDISynth and Radeon driver

Please let our ADS show!

This sites offers only FREE software and it's supported by a few advertisement boxes (no intrusive popups).
Please:

• disable your AdBlocker by adding CoolSoft website to whitelist
  • give the proper cookie consent
  • enable JavaScript for this website

This seconds wait is to let you update your browser configuration...

Ok, I've done the required changes... now show me your content!
!!! Please enable JavaScript !!!
VirtualMIDISynth and Radeon driver

Hello Claudio,

I've been noticing an odd behaviour for a few months now, and it took me some time to actually pinpoint the culprit.

Basically, every time I update my Radeon driver to its latest version (19.2.2 as of today), the VirtualMIDISynth driver just disappears. The VMS application itself is fine (it's still loaded at boot time) and my settings are basically intact, except the driver has been removed and it can't be selected in the MIDI mapper. I have to relaunch the VMS installer to make it reappear, and it will remain available until the next Radeon update.

I've confirmed this to happen with VMS 2.4.1, 2.5.4 and the latest 2.6 beta. None of my other MIDI drivers (Munt, LoopMIDI, MIDISport Uno) are impacted. I'm not sure if something can be done on your side, but I wanted to make you know about this strange caveat.

Re: VirtualMIDISynth and Radeon driver

I suppose the Radeon driver is somehow "resetting" the registry key where UserMode MIDI devices (like VMS) register themselves to the system.

The keys are:

• HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Drivers32
  • HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\WOW6432Node\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion\Drivers32

You should have a midi key with value VirtualMIDISynth.dll.

If you check before/next Radeo driver update you'll see the key is resetted (don't know why, anyway).

The quickest way to fix it is reinstall VirtualMIDISynth, blindly clicking on Next button in setup.