Amazon Echo (Alexa) Changes VirtualMidiSynth settings!

It seems you're using an AdBlocker or JavaScript is disabled!

This sites offers only FREE software and it's supported by a few advertisement boxes (no intrusive popups).

This 10 seconds wait is to let you update your AdBlocker whitelist...

Got it, show me the content...
Please enable JavaScript!
Posts: 24
Joined: April 13, 2015 - 18:54
Amazon Echo (Alexa) Changes VirtualMidiSynth settings!

It took me a while to find why MIDI was not playing.   A few days ago I got an Amazon Echo and connected it by Bluetooth to my PC.

The fix is easy, reselect your PC speakers:

PS:  Happy New Year!

Attachments (Only registered users)
ScreenHunter 141.png
Posts: 1621
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: Amazon Echo (Alexa) Changes VirtualMidiSynth settings!

Well, I don't think Alexa "directly" changed VMS settings, because they are stored in a custom file (VirtualMIDISynth.conf).

I suppose VMS was previously set to default​​​​​​, right?

In this case it will use the default Windows output device, which could have been changed by Alexa.

Posts: 3
Joined: March 14, 2020 - 14:32
Re: Amazon Echo (Alexa) Changes VirtualMidiSynth settings!

Use Default Alexa Settings!

Lance V. Lerma

Posts: 3
Joined: March 22, 2020 - 09:48
Re: Amazon Echo (Alexa) Changes VirtualMidiSynth settings!

Yes, changing the settings to default fixed the issue casued by Amazno Echo. Try it once.