Midi plays in Guitar pro, but in WMP or any other app

It seems you're using an AdBlocker or JavaScript is disabled!

This sites offers only FREE software and it's supported by a few advertisement boxes (no intrusive popups).

This 10 seconds wait is to let you update your AdBlocker whitelist...

Got it, show me the content...
Please enable JavaScript!
Posts: 4
Joined: August 5, 2016 - 07:34
Midi plays in Guitar pro, but in WMP or any other app

I recently tried to play a midi file I exported from a project I made in Guitar Pro 5.2. Everything in guitar pro works fine with VirtualMIDISynth, but when I try to play the file in WMP it says "Windows Media Player encountered a problem while playing the file." MPC-HC won't play either and gives a long error message I'll paste at the end of this message. (This person seems to have had the same problem I did on 1803 and updating to 1809 fixed it https://www.techpowerup.com/forums/threads/midi-out-wont-play-midi-files-in-windows-10-pro64bit-version-1803.248154/ )

I've been Googling for a solution on this issue for weeks now and can't get anything to work. Everything is up to date with Windows (1909). I reinstalled the K-Lite codec pack and reinstalled VirtualMIDIsynth. I even tried to not use VMS at all and it still won't play midi. 

Any help is welcome. I don't think it's a VMS issue since soundfonts work in guitar pro just fine. 

ERROR message in Media player classic

File Source (Async.)::Output
MIDI Parser::Out

Media Type 0:
--------------------------
Unknown

AM_MEDIA_TYPE: 
majortype: MEDIATYPE_Midi {7364696D-0000-0010-8000-00AA00389B71}
subtype: TIME_FORMAT_NONE {00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}
formattype: TIME_FORMAT_NONE {00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000}
bFixedSizeSamples: 0
bTemporalCompression: 0
lSampleSize: 1
cbFormat: 32

pbFormat:
0000: e0 01 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 à...............
0010: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 ................

Posts: 4
Joined: August 5, 2016 - 07:34
Re: Midi plays in Guitar pro, but in WMP or any other app

I just fixed it. 

I opened control panel -> troubleshooting -> View all (top left of the page) -> ran the media player fixes.

I swear I already did these, but I tried again and it's working.

Posts: 1621
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: Midi plays in Guitar pro, but in WMP or any other app

Thanks for posting your fix here, it could be useful to other users ;)