Cakewalk Platinum 23: I dont hear the sound from Coolsoft Virtual MIDISynth: whats wrong

It seems you're using an AdBlocker or JavaScript is disabled!

This sites offers only FREE software and it's supported by a few advertisement boxes (no intrusive popups).

This 10 seconds wait is to let you update your AdBlocker whitelist...

Got it, show me the content...
Please enable JavaScript!
Posts: 2
Joined: June 26, 2020 - 15:01
Cakewalk Platinum 23: I dont hear the sound from Coolsoft Virtual MIDISynth: whats wrong

Cakewalk Platinum

I dont hear the sound from coolsoft virtual synth: whats wrong

Even if I declare VMS as output I do not hear sounds. If the output is routed to MIDI and the connected to a hardware instrument, the sound comes through the audio interface.

But I would rather prefer to hear the synthi tracks without using the external hardware.

Which setting do I need to change in order to hear the sound from the corresponding track through lets say the system loudspeakers?

Thanks a lot in advance for your help

Cheers

Edgar Koskee

Attachments (Only registered users)
Cakewalk VMS 2.jpg

Edgar Koskee

Saxophone - Keyboards - Singer - Songwriter 
Music Tracks for Video & Film - Lyricist

Posts: 1645
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: Cakewalk Platinum 23: I dont hear the sound from Coolsoft Virtual MIDISynth: whats wrong

Take a look to the troubleshooting FAQ, expecially these steps:

  • Double check if you have selected and enabled at least one soundfont, and this soundfont contains the instruments needed by the MIDI you're playing.
  • Try to load a General MIDI SF2 like ChoriumRevA, Weeds or Fluid_R3.
  • Open MIDI Mixer while playing (double click on VirtualMIDISynth systray icon) and check if the output level indicator on the master volume is active or if the green LED on any MIDI channel is blinking to show MIDI activity.
  • If not, that means VirtualMIDISynth is not receiving MIDI data so recheck your MIDI player configuration.
  • Check if MIDI channels are muted; right click on MIDI Mixer and select "Unmute all".
  • Set MIDI Mixer Master volume at maximum level.
  • Starting from Windows Vista, system audio mixer has a slider for each process with an audio output; open the full audio mixer (not only the master volume) and check the volume slider associated with VirtualMIDISynth.
  • Check that VirtualMIDISynth is using the right audio device for playing (Configurator | Options | Output audio device), or try to select a specific one.
  • If you have more than one audio device (usually laptops have more than one), please check that you're listening the selected one.
Posts: 2
Joined: June 26, 2020 - 15:01
Re: Cakewalk Platinum 23: I dont hear the sound from Coolsoft Virtual MIDISynth: whats wrong

Hi,

THANKS A LOT for your support

I only had to see your instruction

>>>>>   Check that VirtualMIDISynth is using the right audio device for playing (Configurator | Options | Output audio device), or try to select a specific one. <<<<

and set the right output

It was set to "standard" which seems to lead to nowhere.

Now I hear the MIDI-VMS-output,  its helpful for me  -even if it is not the last state of the art-   in order to edit the midi before I record using the VST-plugins or external hardware (Yamaha Genos)

Have a good time and

KEEP HEALTHY!!

If you like, you can check my last release at

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TCsWe5kNFg8

Earnings are planned to be spent to the Red Cross

Cheers

Edgar Koskee

Edgar Koskee

Saxophone - Keyboards - Singer - Songwriter 
Music Tracks for Video & Film - Lyricist

Posts: 1645
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: Cakewalk Platinum 23: I dont hear the sound from Coolsoft Virtual MIDISynth: whats wrong
edgarkoskee wrote:
It was set to "standard" which seems to lead to nowhere.

The setting should point to the default output device as configured in Windows audio panel.
Check if you've selected a default device there.

edgarkoskee wrote:
Have a good time and KEEP HEALTHY!!

Thanks for your kind words. Will have a look to your work ;)