Relative file paths for bitmaps

Please let our ADS show!

This sites offers only FREE software and it's supported by a few advertisement boxes (no intrusive popups).
Please:

  • disable your AdBlocker by adding CoolSoft website to whitelist
  • give the proper cookie consent
  • enable JavaScript for this website

This seconds wait is to let you update your browser configuration...

Ok, I've done the required changes... now show me your content!
!!! Please enable JavaScript !!!
Posts: 3
Joined: June 6, 2022 - 17:01
Relative file paths for bitmaps

hi there - nice job!

Bitmap files seem to require an absolute path which is problematic when using build machines with different configurations.
Would it be possible to implement relative paths, i.e. filename or .\filename instead of drive:\dir1\dir2\dir3\filename ?

Thanks! mike

Posts: 1911
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: Relative file paths for bitmaps

You're right, I've completely missed it.

Absolute paths are always problematic, no exceptions 😉.

Will add a selection dialog to allow both relative and absolute paths...

Posts: 1911
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: Relative file paths for bitmaps

Could you please test the attached test version and confirm that it works as expected?

If so, I'll release a final version; otherwise I'm all ears for suggestions...

UPDATE: version 1.6.0 released, attachment removed!

Posts: 3
Joined: June 6, 2022 - 17:01
Re: Relative file paths for bitmaps

hi - thanks for this - just seen it ;)

will give it a try and get back to you...

all the best, mike

Posts: 3
Joined: June 6, 2022 - 17:01
Re: Relative file paths for bitmaps

works like a dream - good job!

thanks and all the best, mike

PS not important but the bitmaps remain locked until the app is closed - many apps do this, especially micro$oft!

Posts: 1911
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: Relative file paths for bitmaps
mikesmifff wrote:
PS not important but the bitmaps remain locked until the app is closed - many apps do this, especially micro$oft!

Yes, sadly all the .NET applications have this "bug".

A workaround could be to load image file content in memory, then use that memory stream as a source for the bitmap control... but this could be a great waste of RAM in case of pages with lot of images...

I've just released the official 1.6.0 version, thanks again for your report 😉.