Using CoolSoft midi synth in Cakewalk by BandLab

Please let our ADS show!

This sites offers only FREE software and it's supported by a few advertisement boxes (no intrusive popups).
Please:

  • disable your AdBlocker by adding CoolSoft website to whitelist
  • give the proper cookie consent
  • enable JavaScript for this website

This seconds wait is to let you update your browser configuration...

Ok, I've done the required changes... now show me your content!
!!! Please enable JavaScript !!!
Posts: 5
Joined: October 27, 2023 - 01:52
Using CoolSoft midi synth in Cakewalk by BandLab

Hello

I cannot set CoolSoft midi Synth as Output Midi Device in Cakewalk by BandLab (v. 2023.09 build 075, 64 bit)

Using Old Cakewalk Sonar it was possible to select CoolSoft Midi Synth as Output Midi Device

but now with Cakewalk by BandLab is not possible because CoolSoft Midi Synth is not listed in Cakewalk by BandLab available midi devices.

I am using

Windows 10 Pro (64 bit) (10.0.22000)
VirtualMIDISynth: 2.13.7 (x64)
Memory (MB): total 12233, free 7257 (60%)
Available devices: 1
=== VirtualMIDISynth #1 ===
*

thanks.

X-Rom

Posts: 129
Joined: September 25, 2013 - 16:38
Re: Using CoolSoft midi synth in Cakewalk by BandLab

Maybe this can help:

https://discuss.cakewalk.com/index.php?/topic/3657-midi-ports-appear-un-...

(Set driver mode to MME instead of UWP)

Posts: 5
Joined: October 27, 2023 - 01:52
Re: Using CoolSoft midi synth in Cakewalk by BandLab

Thanks for your reply,

if I enable UWP driver modality in BandLab i can only see WaveTable Microsoft Synthesizer listed in the Output devices listbox.

Usually in Cakewalk Sonar I see also CoolSoft Midi Synth listed.

unfortunatelly my Cakewalk Sonar is an old version and is not completely compatible with Windows 11 that's why I switched to BandLab.

Giuliano.

X-Rom

Posts: 5
Joined: October 27, 2023 - 01:52
Re: Using CoolSoft midi synth in Cakewalk by BandLab

...and if i set to MME, I see no midi devices listed at all.

X-Rom

Posts: 1989
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: Using CoolSoft midi synth in Cakewalk by BandLab
X-Rom wrote:

...and if i set to MME, I see no midi devices listed at all.

VMS is a MME device, it does not implement UWP.

I wonder if something went wrong during VMS setup... have you checked if VMS is visible by other MME-only players, like VanBasco?

Posts: 5
Joined: October 27, 2023 - 01:52
Re: Using CoolSoft midi synth in Cakewalk by BandLab

Yes, i can select it on VanBasco and i set MME in my Cakewalk by BandLab preferences (i attached the picture)

Attachments (Only registered users)
VanBasco.jpg
CakewalkByBandLab.jpg

X-Rom

Posts: 1989
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: Using CoolSoft midi synth in Cakewalk by BandLab

Sorry, I'm out of ideas 🤔

I hope someone could jump in…

Posts: 1
Joined: June 11, 2024 - 16:48
Re: Using CoolSoft midi synth in Cakewalk by BandLab
X-Rom wrote:

Hello

I cannot set CoolSoft midi Synth as Output Midi Device in Cakewalk by BandLab (v. 2023.09 build 075, 64 bit)

Using Old Cakewalk Sonar it was possible to select CoolSoft Midi Synth as Output Midi Device

but now with Cakewalk by BandLab is not possible because CoolSoft Midi Synth is not listed in Cakewalk by BandLab available midi devices.

I am using

Windows 10 Pro (64 bit) (10.0.22000)
VirtualMIDISynth: 2.13.7 (x64)
Memory (MB): total 12233, free 7257 (60%)
Available devices: 1
=== VirtualMIDISynth #1 ===
*

thanks.

In the early access update of Cakewalk 2023.09 [updated to build 62], Bandlab removed the use of virtual MIDI synths outputs.

I used the combination CoolSoft Virtual MIDI Synth with Cakewalk, until one day it stopped working after an update. I checked the MIDI device setting and the coolSoft driver was gone.

EDIT: You can still use TTS-1 (or other software synths, DX, VST, VSTi etc.), you need to set it up like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kF3tEttGdIQ
It's not ideal..

Posts: 5
Joined: October 27, 2023 - 01:52
Re: Using CoolSoft midi synth in Cakewalk by BandLab
MickeyM2002 wrote:

In the early access update of Cakewalk 2023.09 [updated to build 62], Bandlab removed the use of virtual MIDI synths outputs.

I used the combination CoolSoft Virtual MIDI Synth with Cakewalk, until one day it stopped working after an update. I checked the MIDI device setting and the coolSoft driver was gone.

EDIT: You can still use TTS-1 (or other software synths, DX, VST, VSTi etc.), you need to set it up like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kF3tEttGdIQ
It's not ideal..

 

Thanks

X-Rom