Command Line control of MIDIMapper

It seems you're using an AdBlocker or JavaScript is disabled!

This sites offers only FREE software and it's supported by a few advertisement boxes (no intrusive popups).

This 10 seconds wait is to let you update your AdBlocker whitelist...

Got it, show me the content...
Please enable JavaScript!
Posts: 2
Joined: May 31, 2018 - 21:15
Command Line control of MIDIMapper

Does (or could) MIDIMapper have a command line capability so that it could be used by another program to set the defalut MIDI Device?

Something like: MIDIMapper.exe 0

Or: MIDIMapper.exe 1

etc.

My program (a perl script) can find the device number easily enough, but I need something like MIDIMapper to set it as the default.

Posts: 1536
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: Command Line control of MIDIMapper

No need for a command line API.
CoolSoft MIDIMapper is fully compatible with Microsoft MIDIMapper since it stores the configured output device in the same location MS used till Windows 7.

Take a look at this registry key:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Multimedia\MIDIMap\szPname

It contains the currently configured MIDI device name.
CoolSoft MIDIMapper Configurator changes this value then CoolSoft MIDIMapper driver reads it at each MIDI client start.

Also take a look at this blog post about MIDIMapper removal:
https://coolsoft.altervista.org/en/blog/2013/03/what-happened-midi-mappe...

Posts: 2
Joined: May 31, 2018 - 21:15
Re: Command Line control of MIDIMapper

Thanks...that works for me.