Command Line control of MIDIMapper

Please let our ADS show!

This sites offers only FREE software and it's supported by a few advertisement boxes (no intrusive popups).
Please:

  • disable your AdBlocker by adding CoolSoft website to whitelist
  • give the proper cookie consent
  • enable JavaScript for this website

This seconds wait is to let you update your browser configuration...

Ok, I've done the required changes... now show me your content!
!!! Please enable JavaScript !!!
Posts: 2
Joined: May 31, 2018 - 21:15
Command Line control of MIDIMapper

Does (or could) MIDIMapper have a command line capability so that it could be used by another program to set the defalut MIDI Device?

Something like: MIDIMapper.exe 0

Or: MIDIMapper.exe 1

etc.

My program (a perl script) can find the device number easily enough, but I need something like MIDIMapper to set it as the default.

Posts: 1733
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: Command Line control of MIDIMapper

No need for a command line API.
CoolSoft MIDIMapper is fully compatible with Microsoft MIDIMapper since it stores the configured output device in the same location MS used till Windows 7.

Take a look at this registry key:
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Multimedia\MIDIMap\szPname

It contains the currently configured MIDI device name.
CoolSoft MIDIMapper Configurator changes this value then CoolSoft MIDIMapper driver reads it at each MIDI client start.

Also take a look at this blog post about MIDIMapper removal:
https://coolsoft.altervista.org/en/blog/2013/03/what-happened-midi-mappe...

Posts: 2
Joined: May 31, 2018 - 21:15
Re: Command Line control of MIDIMapper

Thanks...that works for me.