Amazon Echo (Alexa) Changes VirtualMidiSynth settings!

Please let our ADS show!

This sites offers only FREE software and it's supported by a few advertisement boxes (no intrusive popups).
Please:

  • disable your AdBlocker by adding CoolSoft website to whitelist
  • give the proper cookie consent
  • enable JavaScript for this website

This seconds wait is to let you update your browser configuration...

Ok, I've done the required changes... now show me your content!
!!! Please enable JavaScript !!!
Posts: 24
Joined: April 13, 2015 - 18:54
Amazon Echo (Alexa) Changes VirtualMidiSynth settings!

It took me a while to find why MIDI was not playing.   A few days ago I got an Amazon Echo and connected it by Bluetooth to my PC.

The fix is easy, reselect your PC speakers:

PS:  Happy New Year!

Attachments (Only registered users)
ScreenHunter 141.png
Posts: 1683
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: Amazon Echo (Alexa) Changes VirtualMidiSynth settings!

Well, I don't think Alexa "directly" changed VMS settings, because they are stored in a custom file (VirtualMIDISynth.conf).

I suppose VMS was previously set to default​​​​​​, right?

In this case it will use the default Windows output device, which could have been changed by Alexa.

Posts: 3
Joined: March 14, 2020 - 14:32
Re: Amazon Echo (Alexa) Changes VirtualMidiSynth settings!

Use Default Alexa Settings!

Lance V. Lerma

Posts: 3
Joined: March 22, 2020 - 09:48
Re: Amazon Echo (Alexa) Changes VirtualMidiSynth settings!

Yes, changing the settings to default fixed the issue casued by Amazno Echo. Try it once.