Looking for Sound Blaster Pro 2 soundfont...

Please let our ADS show!

This sites offers only FREE software and it's supported by a few advertisement boxes (no intrusive popups).
Please:

  • disable your AdBlocker by adding CoolSoft website to whitelist
  • give the proper cookie consent
  • enable JavaScript for this website

This seconds wait is to let you update your browser configuration...

Ok, I've done the required changes... now show me your content!
!!! Please enable JavaScript !!!
Posts: 3
Joined: February 25, 2021 - 05:41
Looking for Sound Blaster Pro 2 soundfont...

So I downloaded Hocus Pocus on steam and am trying to get it (and other games) to sound as close to possible to how I remember it.  Now I have already used the MIDIMapper to change my midi device to VirtualMIDISynth; OPL-3_FM_128M.sf2 and AweROMGM.sf2 sound close, but no cigar.  This is what I want:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6foQHDm9mR8

It appears to be Sound Blaster Pro 2, but I am having quite a hard time finding a soundfont file to use.  Does anyone know where I might find this on the interwebs?  Thanks.

Posts: 92
Joined: September 25, 2013 - 16:38
Re: Looking for Sound Blaster Pro 2 soundfont...
jeffythedragonslayer wrote:

So I downloaded Hocus Pocus on steam and am trying to get it (and other games) to sound as close to possible to how I remember it.  Now I have already used the MIDIMapper to change my midi device to VirtualMIDISynth; OPL-3_FM_128M.sf2 and AweROMGM.sf2 sound close, but no cigar.  This is what I want:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6foQHDm9mR8

It appears to be Sound Blaster Pro 2, but I am having quite a hard time finding a soundfont file to use.  Does anyone know where I might find this on the interwebs?  Thanks.

SoundBlaster Pro/Adlib used a very different technology for music called FM synthesis. FM synths were real synthesizers that cannot be  properly emulated by pre-recorded samples used in soundfonts. So OPL-3_FM_128M.sf2 is the closest one you can get from an SF2 soundfont.
If you want music that is more faithful to original you should use DosBox since it properly emulates OPL2/OPL3 FM synths.

As you can see in the description of the video you linked above that recording was alo made in DOSBox r3871.

Posts: 3
Joined: February 25, 2021 - 05:41
Re: Looking for Sound Blaster Pro 2 soundfont...
falcosoft wrote:

SoundBlaster Pro/Adlib used a very different technology for music called FM synthesis. FM synths were real synthesizers that cannot be  properly emulated by pre-recorded samples used in soundfonts. So OPL-3_FM_128M.sf2 is the closest one you can get from an SF2 soundfont.

Ah, well that explains a lot.  Thanks for clearing that up.

falcosoft wrote:
If you want music that is more faithful to original you should use DosBox since it properly emulates OPL2/OPL3 FM synths.

The Steam rerelease actually is bundled inside a dosbox, the title bar starts with "DOSBox SVN-Daum" so that's the verison I'm using.  I did find an [sblaster] label in hocus.conf and changed the type line to sbtype=sbpro2, but that didn't help either.  I tried mounting my steam library in dosbox 0.74-3 and running hocus.exe but no dice there either; I don't know what the r3871 is.

Posts: 92
Joined: September 25, 2013 - 16:38
Re: Looking for Sound Blaster Pro 2 soundfont...
jeffythedragonslayer wrote:

The Steam rerelease actually is bundled inside a dosbox, the title bar starts with "DOSBox SVN-Daum" so that's the verison I'm using.  I did find an [sblaster] label in hocus.conf and changed the type line to sbtype=sbpro2, but that didn't help either.  I tried mounting my steam library in dosbox 0.74-3 and running hocus.exe but no dice there either; I don't know what the r3871 is.

I do not know or have the steam release but in case of original DOS version in game's folder there is setup.exe. You should start it and select Adlib as music card and save settings. Then you should start the game by running hocus.exe directly (not by some prepared .bat file in the game's folder since that may set a different synth at starup).  If  the steam release works differently you can try this one instead:
https://gamesnostalgia.com/download/hocus-pocus/1601?t=59195972

PS: This problem of yours is not VMS related anyway so if you still have problem running your game in DosBox you should use Vogons
forum as the offocial support forum for DosBox.

https://www.vogons.org/

Posts: 3
Joined: February 25, 2021 - 05:41
Re: Looking for Sound Blaster Pro 2 soundfont...
falcosoft wrote:

I do not know or have the steam release but in case of original DOS version in game's folder there is setup.exe.   You should start it and select Adlib as music card and save settings.

Amazing, that did the trick!  Thanks.