Bug with this forum? and question about Midisynth

Please let our ADS show!

This sites offers only FREE software and it's supported by a few advertisement boxes (no intrusive popups).
Please:

  • disable your AdBlocker by adding CoolSoft website to whitelist
  • give the proper cookie consent
  • enable JavaScript for this website

This seconds wait is to let you update your browser configuration...

Ok, I've done the required changes... now show me your content!
!!! Please enable JavaScript !!!
Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Giu 2015 - 19:39
Bug with this forum? and question about Midisynth

I got this error after successfully creating an account and creating a password: Notice: Undefined index: coolforum_post_count in coolforum_user_presave() (line 190 of /membri/coolsoft/sites/all/modules/coolforum/coolforum.user.inc).

I have FireFox 38.0.5 on a Win 8.1. Anything else you need to know? I posted it here because there's no forum bugs thread.

Secondly, is there no way to disable MIDISynth temporarily without having to follow the whole uninstalling procedure? I think it's preventing me from recording gameplay from DosBox with music with some games (or maybe it isn't I don't know). Is it possible that it introduces lag into DosBox even if the game doesn't send any sounds or music into it?

Oh you misspelled "wishlist".

Cheers! LotBlind

 

PS When I posted this I got this error:

Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in coolforum_xmlsitemap_create_link() (line 177 of /membri/coolsoft/sites/all/modules/coolforum/coolforum_xmlsitemap/coolforum_xmlsitemap.module).

Posts: 1694
Joined: 25 Mar 2012 - 01:19
Re: Bug with this forum? and question about Midisynth

Thanks for your forum bug reports, now fixed.

As for VMS, the quickest way to disable it is rename VirtualMIDISynth.dll to, i.e., VirtualMIDISynth_disabled.dll.
The DLL is in folder C:\Windows\System32\VirtualMIDISynth (and C:\Windows\SysWOW64\VirtualMIDISynth on 64bit systems).
It must not be in use to be renamed, so close all MIDI apps beforehand.

That said, I'd like to further investigate on the bug you're reporting, after you confirm that VirtuamMIDISynth is guilty.
What you mean with "recording gameplay"?
Is there a built-in DosBox function that allows recording or do you use an external utility?

Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Giu 2015 - 19:39
Re: Bug with this forum? and question about Midisynth

Whoops! I was meant to come back and change what I said: I noticed the slow-down first of all was fixed when I changed the game's settings to what they had originally been and Midisynth wasn't involved at any stage because they were not midi sound effects.

The other thing that I mentioned: I use DosBox's built-in recorder to capture gameplay with video and sound and obviously if it's sending the music to an external midi device like Windows GM or MidiSynth I don't think it's supposed to be able to capture that. I know I have to use an external recorder to record the sounds from Windows if I want to capture them or try to get the game to play the music with DosBox-emulated devices.

I still would like to know if having Midisynth enabled without it doing anything can cause the programs to lag? Is there supposed to be any overhead when it's not active? Neither the music nor the sound fx in the game (Alone in the Dark 1, 1992) are midi-based in the CD version.

Posts: 1694
Joined: 25 Mar 2012 - 01:19
Re: Bug with this forum? and question about Midisynth
LotBlind wrote:
if it's sending the music to an external midi device like Windows GM or MidiSynth I don't think it's supposed to be able to capture that

I agree, but maybe DosBox built-in recorder has an option to capture "analog aoutput"; if so you'll be able to capture VirtualMIDISynth output too.

LotBlind wrote:
having Midisynth enabled without it doing anything can cause the programs to lag?

What you mean with without it doing anything? If the device is enabled in DosBox I suppose it will, at least, try to initialize it.
If after that it won't send any message to VMS it won't cause any more delay/lag, you only lost a few initialization seconds and some memory (due to loaded soundfonts).

Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Giu 2015 - 19:39
Re: Bug with this forum? and question about Midisynth

By without it doing anything I mean no notes are being sent into the midi synth. That's what I thought, just a bit of RAM is reserved.

DosBox doesn't have analogue output recording, but it looks like it might have an option to capture midi notes! That might be what I need.

Thanks for replies! You've confirmed my theories.

Posts: 1694
Joined: 25 Mar 2012 - 01:19
Re: Bug with this forum? and question about Midisynth

I just added a FAQ on how to temporarily disable VirtualMIDISynth (without removing it):

FAQ #13

Hope it helps...

Posts: 4
Joined: 27 Giu 2015 - 19:39
Re: Bug with this forum? and question about Midisynth

Thanks! I hope someone will see that and find it useful even though my problems were probably unrelated.