MIDI File Converter Doesn't Get Affected by Current MIDI Synthesis Options

It seems you're using an AdBlocker or JavaScript is disabled!

This sites offers only FREE software and it's supported by a few advertisement boxes (no intrusive popups).

This 10 seconds wait is to let you update your AdBlocker whitelist...

Got it, show me the content...
Please enable JavaScript!

Pages

Posts: 91
Joined: October 14, 2016 - 03:20
MIDI File Converter Doesn't Get Affected by Current MIDI Synthesis Options

For example, if you check "Disable MISI effects rendering (sustain, reverb)" the MIDI File Converter won't care and it will record it with those effects, same happens with "Disable MIDI stereo rendering (render to mono channel)"

I don't know about all the other options but at least these 2 options don't seem to affect the MIDI File Converter output files

Posts: 1662
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: MIDI File Converter Doesn't Get Affected by Current MIDI Synthesis Options

The options you mentioned were added in the "1.x era" to lighten CPU usage on old processors to allow them to render a realtime MIDI synhtesis without "hiccups".
They're just workarounds to be used during live synthesis of a MIDI stream.

Since MIDI-->WAV/MP3 conversion is not a realtime task (there's no problem if it requires 30 seconds to convert a 20 seconds long MIDI on a slow CPU), it is done at the best available quality.

Posts: 91
Joined: October 14, 2016 - 03:20
Re: MIDI File Converter Doesn't Get Affected by Current MIDI Synthesis Options

While the mono option might be redundant (Because you can convert it from stereo to mono after the conversion with a audio edition program) I think you should have the option to convert it without reverb:

Because without reverb you get a raw output file that you can later edit, or maybe you simply want to get the output file without reverb because you don't want it to have reverb without having to mess with the midi itself or the soundfont

Before the MIDI file converted output file didn't have any reverb, it's great that you don't have to add it manually or record the live midi to give it reverb anymore but, you can't really remove the reverb off with sound edition software

Anyway, if this is currently working as intended I suppose this has turned into a suggestion so it's not a bug and you can close it if you want, thanks for the response anyways

Posts: 1662
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: MIDI File Converter Doesn't Get Affected by Current MIDI Synthesis Options

I've had a second thought about synth options, after reading your example about reverb&chorus.

In fact it seems a lot confusing for the user to have two different behaviors, realtime synth and conversion synth.
There's also no way for the user to know precisely which options are applied to each mode.

Will try to consolidate options management so it will be applied to both modes uniformly.

Will post a beta here...

PS: moved thread to Wishlist forum

Posts: 91
Joined: October 14, 2016 - 03:20
Re: MIDI File Converter Doesn't Get Affected by Current MIDI Synthesis Options

Wow thank you so much for actually working in my suggestion

Yes, it does makes sense that the file converter uses the same configuration as the live one, the first time I used the converter I asumed these options were apliying into the converter

Posts: 1662
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: MIDI File Converter Doesn't Get Affected by Current MIDI Synthesis Options

Test this beta version and please confirm if it works correctly...

UPDATE: newer beta released, attachment removed

Posts: 91
Joined: October 14, 2016 - 03:20
Re: MIDI File Converter Doesn't Get Affected by Current MIDI Synthesis Options

Wow that was fast, well, apart from a buffer error -1 (I think that was, I was gonna screenshot it but it close itself) I got when virtual midi synth opened after starting windows it seems to work perfectly and the settings are in sync with the midi file converter:

I tried combining both mono and effects disabling and just one or the other and all output files were sounding exactly like the live version with the selected effects removed

If I notice anything weird I will post it here, thanks for working on my suggestion

Posts: 91
Joined: October 14, 2016 - 03:20
Re: MIDI File Converter Doesn't Get Affected by Current MIDI Synthesis Options

Ok, I've noticed 2 things, first one it's that after starting windows and virtual midi synth (it's set to start on it's own after windows starts) even though I have the effects enabled the midis will play without effects unless I do this:

First I disable the effects press apply, enable them again and press apply, then on the midi player (WMP in this case) I have to press the stop button and then the play button or open other midi or else the effects won't be aplied, after doing that it seems to work normally until I turn off the computer

Another thing more annoying that the other bug it's that Virtual MIDI synth seems to forget about devices if some time passes since said devices sended any midi data (they disappear from the "about" list)

So if you send midi data when Virtual MIDI synth has forgoten about them nothing will be played and you need to tell the device to change output midi device to Virtual MIDI synth and if that doesn't work, to CoolSoft midi mapper so it gets in the list of devices again, in midi players it gets fixed by just pressing stop and then play, I've had this problem in all my midi devices: Windows Media Player, Vanbasco's Karaoke player, Virtual MIDI Piano Keyboard, Mixcraft 8 (especially annoying to fix in these last 2 like I said before)

Posts: 1662
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: MIDI File Converter Doesn't Get Affected by Current MIDI Synthesis Options
Anonimo_LLopi wrote:
Ok, I've noticed 2 things, first one it's that after starting windows and virtual midi synth (it's set to start on it's own after windows starts) even though I have the effects enabled the midis will play without effects unless I do this:

First I disable the effects press apply, enable them again and press apply, then on the midi player (WMP in this case) I have to press the stop button and then the play button or open other midi or else the effects won't be aplied, after doing that it seems to work normally until I turn off the computer

Just a confirmation: we were talking about "MIDI converter" but now switched to MIDI play, right?
Have you tried to close/reopen VirtualMIDISynth manually instead of changing settings/apply/change-again/reapply ?

Anonimo_LLopi wrote:
Another thing more annoying that the other bug it's that Virtual MIDI synth seems to forget about devices if some time passes since said devices sended any midi data (they disappear from the "about" list)
MIDI clients disappear from About tab when the close MIDI channel or when watchdog elapses.
It's purpose is to silent output and cleanup things if a MIDI client crashes unexpectedly.

I'm not able to reproduce the bug on my side.
Could you please give a detailed step-by-step list?
Something like:

  • start VMS
  • start VanBasco (its output device set to VMS#1)
  • press play
  • ...

Since VanBasco have this issue too (and I usually use it for my tests) please use it as MIDI client.

Posts: 91
Joined: October 14, 2016 - 03:20
Re: MIDI File Converter Doesn't Get Affected by Current MIDI Synthesis Options
coolsoft wrote:
Just a confirmation: we were talking about "MIDI converter" but now switched to MIDI play, right?
Have you tried to close/reopen VirtualMIDISynth manually instead of changing settings/apply/change-again/reapply ?

Yes, I was talking about live midi playing

Yes, it seems closing and opening virtualmidisynth also fixes the issue

But today after starting windows I didn't have to do anything to get the effects working, this issue seems random and not really that important

coolsoft wrote:
MIDI clients disappear from About tab when the close MIDI channel or when watchdog elapses.
It's purpose is to silent output and cleanup things if a MIDI client crashes unexpectedly.

I'm not able to reproduce the bug on my side.
Could you please give a detailed step-by-step list?
Something like:

    start VMS
    start VanBasco (its output device set to VMS#1)
    press play
    ...

Since VanBasco have this issue too (and I usually use it for my tests) please use it as MIDI client.

Ok, after some tests i've managed to figure out that the easiest way to reproduce this issue it's by having multiple midi devices

With only VanBasco open it's really hard to reproduce if not imposible, it seems VanBasco isn't very affected by this, other midi devices can easily get closed even if they are the only one open, but if you include other devices (even VanBasco) they start closing each other like crazy, this definetly wasn't like this before, I remember VMS before kept all the devices open even if they weren't used on a long time (even for several hours iirc)

Here's a video testing this issue with 3 devices including VanBasco, I can do that list if you want but I figured a video showing the issue and testing it would be better:

https://youtu.be/UFMrLmpP67A

Pages