VU Meter for Every Channel on the MIDI Mixer

Please let our ADS show!

This sites offers only FREE software and it's supported by a few advertisement boxes (no intrusive popups).
Please:

  • disable your AdBlocker by adding CoolSoft website to whitelist
  • give the proper cookie consent
  • enable JavaScript for this website

This seconds wait is to let you update your browser configuration...

Ok, I've done the required changes... now show me your content!
!!! Please enable JavaScript !!!
Posts: 91
Joined: October 14, 2016 - 03:20
VU Meter for Every Channel on the MIDI Mixer

I think adding a VU meter for every channel would make VMS look more professional and it would be cool, like this mock up I made:

I read on the multi channel export thread that this might not be possible because bass only has 1 output from the 16 channels so I don't know werever this is possible to do

Unless there's a way to run 16 bass instances (1 per channel to have 16 outputs) or something like that, this would probably require some kind of sync becuase of countinuous controllers that affect all channels and probably more

And if you are worried about the performance hit you can just add a checkbox to disable it, I'm not sure how much 16 instances of bass with one channel only would affect performance, but I don't think it would be 16 times more.

Also possibly an option to disable instrument names text if you want to only see the vumeters

Well, you tell me wherever this is possible or not/worth it or not, I was just really curious, since having vumeters for every channel it's pretty normal on DAWs, thanks for reading :)

Posts: 1687
Joined: March 25, 2012 - 01:19
Re: VU Meter for Every Channel on the MIDI Mixer

Good Photoshop work but... isn't the interface a bit "crowded"?
If VUMeters levels were a bit higher, what about instrument names? IMHO they would become unreadable.

Anonimo_LLopi wrote:
Unless there's a way to run 16 bass instances (1 per channel to have 16 outputs) or something like that
Ouch, that's kind of a nightmare: 16 realtime threads per virtual device (synchronized), means at most 64 threads, with a MIDI splitter per device that forwards MIDI messages to each of the 16 threads... all of that just for a visual effect?

Anonimo_LLopi wrote:
And if you are worried about the performance hit you can just add a checkbox to disable it
It's not just about a checkbox to stop VUMeters rendering; it will need two distinct implementations: single-thread and multi-thread (with MIDI re-processor and splitter). No, that will quickly became unmaintainable.

Anonimo_LLopi wrote:
having vumeters for every channel it's pretty normal on DAWs
I agree, but VMS is not a DAW but a Virtual Device; I'd like to keep VMS as simple/clean as possible ;)

Posts: 91
Joined: October 14, 2016 - 03:20
Re: VU Meter for Every Channel on the MIDI Mixer
coolsoft wrote:
Good Photoshop work but... isn't the interface a bit "crowded"?
If VUMeters levels were a bit higher, whet about instrument names? IMHO they would be unreadable.

Yes, it would be the best to redesign the hud if this were implemented, the text would look a bit better with the actual font real font though, here it was removed from the normal black background so it has black edges aliasing, so if it something looks off it's probably because of that, also I think that if the VU were moving they would actually make the text more readable because of the contrast, you could also change the font itself or the color to other one that looks better on top of a VU meter

coolsoft wrote:
Ouch, that's kind of a nighttmare: 16 realtime threads per virtual device (synchronized), means at most 64 threads, with a MIDI splitter per device that forwards MIDI messages to each of the 16 threads... all of that just for a visual effect?

It's not just about a checkbox to stop VUMeters rendering; it will need two distinct implementations: single-thread and multi-thread (with MIDI re-processor and splitter). No, that will quickly became unmaintainable.

Yes, the more I wrote the more it impossible it seemed to be, but I wanted to know your opinion on this at least :)

Posts: 1
Joined: April 13, 2020 - 19:16
Re: VU Meter for Every Channel on the MIDI Mixer

Hi...a big challenge with using third-party tools is that they cannot be easily integrated into the MixConsole view or per channel; the user has to manually add the meters per channel and then open/close them in a plugin interface. This requires a lot of extra work and gets "in the way"; alternatively, having them built into the mixer would streamline the process. Also, the meters have to be manually calibrated depending on Cubase configuration, which many users might not realize; built-in meters could automatically adjust to the Cubase configuration.